RESNET Standards

To achieve its goal of setting the standards for quality of rating services, RESNET has adopted the Mortgage Industry National Home Energy Rating Standards. The standards set the national procedures for home energy ratings. The standards focus on four areas:

  • Rating Program Administration (Chapter One)
  • Rater Training and Certification (Chapter Two)
  • Technical Requirements for Ratings (Chapters Three and Eight)
  • Quality Assurance of Ratings (Chapter Nine)

The RESNET standards are recognized for:

  • Accreditation of rating providers, rater training providers, and rating software tools
  • Quality Assurance oversight of Home Energy Ratings
  • Verification of energy savings for energy efficient mortgages (EEMs)
  • Verification of a home's energy performance for EPA's ENERGY STAR Homes Program
  • Code compliance by the International Energy Conservation Code
  • Performance option for compliance with energy codes adopted
  • Verification of energy performance in state utility benefit program funded residential energy efficiency programs

RESNET's Standards